Attendance Requirements


Good attendance is of prime importance for the educational development of each student. A student should never be absent unless it is absolutely necessary. Acceptable and excused absences are the following: personal sickness, sickness in the immediate family, death in the immediate family (immediate family includes grandparents, mother, father, sister, and brother), and school-sponsored activities. Any variations of this may be discussed with the student's assistant principal or principal.

State law provides that if a student is absent from school on 10 or more days or parts of days within a six-month period in the same school year:

  1. The student's parent or guardian is subject to prosecution under Section 25.093 of the Texas Education Code; and
  2. The student is subject to referral to a truancy court for truant conduct under Section 65.003(a), Family Code.

A student who is absent more than 18 days during the school year for an intermediate school class may not be given credit .except for ·an illness of the student, as verified by a doctor's written statement. showing the dates of absence*, or extenuating circumstances approved by the campus attendance committee, the majority of which consists of classroom teachers.

Any student who is absent more than 9 days per semester in a high school credit course or more than 18 days in the school year in an intermediate school course will have his/her attendance record reviewed by the campus attendance committee to determine if extenuating circumstances exist. Extenuating circumstances include but are not limited to the following:

  • Illness or death in the immediate family
  • Late enrollment or early withdrawal of a student placed in or having resided in a community care home by the Texas Youth Commission
  • Late enrollment or early withdrawal of a migratory student as defined by applicable federal regulations
  • Weather or road conditions making travel dangerous
  • A natural disaster.

*It is not necessary for a student to have a note from a doctor each time he/she is ill. However, if the number of absences exceeds 18 days in the school year for an intermediate class, and if medical reasons are given for an additional absence, a doctor's note will be required for the day(s) of illness in order to receive academic credit unless'waived by the attendance committee.

Any absence not verified by a note from the student's parent or guardian within five days will not be eligible for consideration by the attendance committee as extenuating. The date(s) of the student's absence should be included in the signed parent excuse.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.